A Fortnight of Fluids

Today is Day 15 of my own personal challenge of a gallon a day of water. It’s very possible that I’m insane. It’s very possible that has nothing to do with my water challenge either.

I’ve been tracking my water intake using the app for my FitBit. Oddly enough, I’ve been better at drinking the full gallon each day than I have been at tracking it! Oops.

What to report… I pee a LOT. I pee to the point of it being annoying actually so it’s tempting to decrease my intake or maybe adjust my *fluid* intake a bit. I haven’t completely substituted water for everything I drink. I still have my coffee in the mornings, and maybe an ice tea or a soda half way through the day. Some nights maybe there are delicious adult beverages like wine and sake and mangoritas like this one:

  
I was discussing the idea of “how much water should you drink” with one of my friends and we decided to hunt for some research. With the purpose of bubble bursting, I don’t go to webmd. I trust little I find online. As I say to my patients, DON’T GOOGLE YOUR SYMPTOMS!!! I also feel that way about things I want facts on. Webmd and all the many wiki’s that exist are helpful, sure. But don’t take their word as law or fact. Admittedly, I start with google to find reputable sources to investigate. Medical sources I tend to consider reputable are places like UCLA and Mayo Clinic and the CDC. Here’s some interesting info from the Mayo Clinic about water intake. Notice the word “adequate“…

Every day you lose water through your breath, perspiration, urine and bowel movements. For your body to function properly, you must replenish its water supply by consuming beverages and foods that contain water.

So how much fluid does the average, healthy adult living in a temperate climate need? The Institute of Medicine determined that an adequate intake (AI) for men is roughly about 13 cups (3 liters) of total beverages a day. The AI for women is about 9 cups (2.2 liters) of total beverages a day.

They go on to sort of debunk the literal interpretation of the 8 by 8 rule of drinking eight 8-ounce glasses of water a day – a “rule” that is as it is simply because it is easy to remember. They also discuss why and when to adjust your intake. BUT also mentioned is the fact that you get water from other sources as well including your food.

You don’t need to rely only on what you drink to meet your fluid needs. What you eat also provides a significant portion of your fluid needs. On average, food provides about 20 percent of total water intake. For example, many fruits and vegetables, such as watermelon and spinach, are 90 percent or more water by weight. In addition, beverages such as milk and juice are composed mostly of water.

Anyway.

I pee more. My appetite is definitely less because I’m probably just so full of water! Oddly enough, I don’t feel like I’m sweating as much even though it’s been extremely hot here lately. My GERD isn’t quite as bad, but I do still take medication for that so it’s hard to say if the water intake really has as much to do with symptom control as the magic of medicine.

Stay tuned and hope for bigger better improvements!

One thought on “A Fortnight of Fluids

Leave a Reply

